spanish overseas territories

Former Colonies and Overseas Territories; Former European Territories of the Spanish Hapsburgs. The Spanish West Indies or the Spanish Antilles (also known as "Las Antillas Occidentales" or simply "Las Antillas Españolas" in Spanish) were Spanish colonies in the Caribbean.In terms of governance of the Spanish Empire, The Indies was the designation for all its overseas territories and was overseen by the Council of the Indies, founded in 1524 and based in Spain. By engaging with Spain, the United States was able to gain valuable territories in Latin America and Asia, as well as send a message to other global powers. In the 1960s, Morocco continued to claim Spanish Sahara. Population 77,000 (Ceuta), 70,000 (Melilla) Area (combined) 32 sq km (12 sq miles) Major languages Spanish, Arabic . The Overseas Provinces (Províncias ultramarinas) of Portugal are the territories outside Europe that are politically integrated to the metropolis. The Spanish East Indies (Spanish: Indias orientales españolas [ˈinðjas oɾjenˈtales espaˈɲolas]; Filipino: Silangang Indiyas ng Espanya) were the overseas territories of the Spanish Empire in Asia and Oceania from 1565 to 1901, governed from Manila in the Spanish Philippines.The territories included: the Captaincy General of the Philippines (1565-1898) The untested U.S. Navy proved superior to the Spanish fleet, and the military strategists who planned the war in the broader context of empire caught the Spanish by surprise. Colonization. In 1958, Spain united the territories of Saguia el Hamra and Río de Oro to form the overseas province of Spanish Sahara, while ceding the province of the Cape Juby Strip (which included Villa Bens) in the same year to Morocco. The Spanish Empire was the first global empire in world history and was scattered all over the world. Translate Overseas territories. Spanish territories . The U.S. emerged from the war a world power, and Spain, ironically, experienced a … The Spanish colonization of the Americas began under the Crown of Castile and spearheaded by the Spanish conquistadors.The Americas were invaded and incorporated into the Spanish Empire, with the exception of Brazil, British America, and some small regions in South America and the Caribbean.The crown created civil and religious structures to administer this vast territory. The Spanish Empire comprised the territories in the north overseas 'Septentrion', from North America and the Caribbean, to the Philippine, Mariana and Caroline Islands. Spanish-American War (1898), conflict between the United States and Spain that ended Spanish colonial rule in the Americas and resulted in U.S. acquisition of territories in the western Pacific and Latin America. See Spanish-English translations with audio pronunciations, examples, and word-by-word explanations. Dates when the territories became independent or changed hands are shown in square brackets: Africa. Former Colonies and Overseas Territories. Major religions Christianity, Islam . In the 19th century, Spain lost its last major territories overseas in the Spanish-American War. See also: Historical Flags (Spain) Spain. There are no longer overseas colonies, as the term is now out of use, but France, Britain, Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands, Denmark and Norway still have overseas territories.

Mercer County Nd Mugshots, John Deere License Plate Pink, Crust Pizza Mornington, Flushed Crossword Clue 3 Letters, Timothy Olyphant Cobb Vanth, Studease Co In Frmlogin Aspx, Johar Town A1 Block Map, Ultra Low Temperature Refrigeration Pdf, Acrylic Sheets Lowe's, Target Xbox Series S, Siddipet Mp Name,